Staff & Board of Directors

Mark Schneider – Executive Director

Mark became the Executive Director of the Iowa Arboretum in the fall of 2011, after working for 32 years at the Virginia Zoo in Norfolk, Virginia.  One of his accomplishments there was to develop the zoo into a botanical garden. He also focused on creating educational garden spaces, establishing environmental conservation projects and starting garden programs for people with disabilities.

He earned an undergraduate degree in horticulture from the University of Delaware and a Master’s degree in human resource development from George Washington University. He also has a Master’s degree in public administration from Old Dominion University in Norfolk.


Mark lives in Ames with his wife Phyllis.  They have two children.

Kevin Lantz – Horticulturist

Kevin has spent the past 30 years with the Iowa Arboretum working as a horticulturist, taking care of the grounds, and overseeing weddings. He graduated from Iowa Lakes Community College with an AAS degree in Horticulture. He grew in Pomeroy but now resides in Boone. His family continues to be big supporters of the Iowa Arboretum and spend as much time as they can volunteering. In his down time, Kevin enjoys going fishing, nature, and traveling.

Heather Bass – Office Manager

In 2001, Heather began working at the Iowa Arboretum as a horticulture specialist, managing the greenhouse and performing grounds work. Before joining the Arboretum, she graduated from Iowa State University with a B.S. in Horticulture and worked at a few different locations before settling down at the Arboretum. Several years ago, Heather decided to make a change by transitioning to office manager. She now manages everything indoors including memberships, office work, and the volunteers. In her free time, Heather enjoys spending time with her husband and two boys at their home in Ames.



Tyler Johnson joined the staff of the Iowa Arboretum in May of 2020 as the Curator of Collections and Grounds.  He graduated from Iowa State University with degrees in Environmental Horticulture and Marketing. He worked at Greater Des Moines Botanical Garden as a Horticulturist and Head Grower for 5 years.  He lives in Ames with his partner Doug.

Sally Good – Bookkeeper

Sally graduated from Iowa State University with a BS in Business Administration and a specialization in Accounting.  She has worked in many areas of the banking industry during her career.  She continues to perform accounting services for nonprofit organizations and businesses in the area.  Sally is an active member of Community United Methodist church and is a board member of the Ogden Community Scholarship Foundation.  Sally and her husband, Chuck, live in Ogden.

Special Events Coordinator

Please contact Mark Schneider at for more information about events, rentals, and weddings.


Officers of the Board of Directors

Jamie Beyer, Boone, President
Don Draper – President Elect
Donald Lewis, Ames, Vice President
Bob Shaw – Member At Large
John Jordan, Boone, Member At Large
Tom Jordan, Ames, Secretary
Wayne Koos, Boone, Treasurer
Linda Grieve, Ankeny, Past President

Board of Directors

Alex Andrade, Ankeny
Matthew Bailey, Ankeny
Mike Bevins, Woodward
Tom Brumback, Alleman
Steve Bush, West Des Moines

Gabbi Edwards, Ames
Randy Elder, Nichols
Paula Flynn, Alleman
Doug Gustafson, Boone
Kris Jurik, Ames
Duane Kent, Aurelia

Tina Krug – Adel

Kathy Law, Des Moines
Bernie Mouw, Des Moines
Mike Overton, Boone
Jan Thompson, Ames
Doug Van Dyke, Boone
Jamie West, Des Moines