Jacobson Conifer Collection

The Jacobson Conifer Collection was established in 1982 as the Dwarf Conifer Collection. The construction of the Jones Memorial Gazebo in 1991 increased the visibility of this planting and made it a popular location for wedding ceremonies. The collection was renamed in 2005 in honor of Board Member Craig Jacobson of Marshalltown. Dwarf, intermediate, and even large conifers with cultivar designation are represented in these plantings. Particularly fine established specimens include weeping white pine (Pinus strobus ‘Pendula’), dwarf Norway spruce on a standard (Picea abies ‘Little Gem’), compact concolor fir (Abies concolor ‘Compacta’), and weeping white spruce (Picea glauca‘Pendula’).